Independent · Mogadishu · Since 2019
Register

Al-Shabaab attacks on prisons

Freeing its prisoners is, in the words of Al-Shabaab's own emir, "a primary goal" of the movement. Since 2013 the group has attacked Somalia's prisons from outside and from inside: car bombs at the gates of Godka Jilacow, a dawn raid that emptied Bosaso's prison, armed revolts by its convicts inside Mogadishu Central Prison. This register records each attack — the dead, the escaped, the sources — and the numbers that were never reported.

7attacks since 2013
3from inside the walls
400+freed from Bosaso, 2021 (claimed)
0inquiries published

The attacks

Newest first

Where official and independent figures differ, all are given. "Not reported" means OPR has found no source, not that the number was zero.

20252025-10-04

Godka Jilacow (NISA), Bondhere, Mogadishu

7attackers killed
0 (government) / at least 3 (Al Jazeera) / 42 (Al-Shabaab claim)guards / security killed
0 (government)civilians killed
not reportedinmates killed
none (government) / 10–20, most recaptured (Somali media) / 'dozens' (Long War Journal)escaped
about 25injured

Seven Al-Shabaab fighters in a Toyota Hilux disguised as a NISA vehicle, wearing security uniforms, passed seven checkpoints unsearched — stopped twice at the Villa Somalia gates — and at about 4:40 p.m. detonated a car bomb at the gate of the underground prison, then held it for hours against NISA and the Gaashaan special forces. Somali reports said between ten and twenty prisoners got out during the fighting, most recaptured by residents and by Cheetah forces as they tried to flee. The government said no security personnel or civilians died and no prisoners were freed; Al Jazeera reported at least three security personnel killed; Al-Shabaab, in a video released in March 2026, claimed it killed 42 government soldiers and named the seven attackers, among them two foreigners, an Ethiopian and a Tanzanian, and the son of its spokesman Ali Dheere. The attack came the same day the government reopened 52 Mogadishu roads closed for security.

20242024-07-12

Mogadishu Central Prison

5 (inmates)attackers killed
at least 3 guardsguards / security killed
0civilians killed
5 (the attackers)inmates killed
0escaped
not reportedinjured

Imprisoned Al-Shabaab members mounted a surprise attack on guards with small arms and grenades in an attempted mass escape. How the weapons and explosives entered the prison was not explained. The mutiny was put down.

20212021-03-05

Bosaso Central Prison, Puntland

not confirmedattackers killed
1 (official) / 7 (guard's account)guards / security killed
not reportedcivilians killed
not reportedinmates killed
more than 400 (Al-Shabaab claim; not independently confirmed)escaped
at least 2 soldiersinjured

Al-Shabaab fighters breached the prison with explosives at dawn and fought their way in. The group claimed it 'liberated more than 400 prisoners', many of them members held for over ten years, and said it freed women and girls. Puntland's police chief initially confirmed one soldier dead; a guard told Reuters five soldiers died inside and two more arriving as reinforcements were killed. The group said the raid was ordered by its emir, Abu Ubaidah, who had declared freeing prisoners a primary goal.

20202020-08-10

Mogadishu Central Prison

15 (inmates)attackers killed
4–5 soldiers and guardsguards / security killed
1 (a tuk-tuk driver, reported)civilians killed
15inmates killed
1 (Mubarak Ibrahim Idle, reported; government denied)escaped
severalinjured

An inmate seized a guard's weapon and opened fire; Al-Shabaab convicts took guns from fallen guards and reportedly raided an armoury. The gunfight ran into the evening until reinforcements killed the armed prisoners. The government's death toll changed twice in three days. The warden was suspended and a six-member inquiry appointed; its findings were never published. See OPR's coverage.

20172017-03

Mogadishu Central Prison

1 (bomber)attackers killed
1 soldierguards / security killed
not reportedcivilians killed
not reportedinmates killed
0 confirmedescaped
not reportedinjured

A suicide bomber passed the security checks and detonated inside the prison compound; the target was reported to be General Hussein Hassan Osman, commander of the Custodial Corps. Damage was limited by a guard's intervention; several inmates attempted to escape in the confusion. Al-Shabaab claimed the attack.

20142014-08-21

Godka Jilacow (NISA), Mogadishu

7attackers killed
3guards / security killed
1civilians killed
0inmates killed
0escaped
not reportedinjured

A vehicle bomb detonated at the prison gates and gunmen with rifles and grenades tried to enter the NISA interrogation centre to free detainees. Guards repelled the attack. The Ministry of National Security said seven Al-Shabaab fighters, three security guards and one civilian were killed; other reports put the dead at twelve. No prisoners escaped.

20132013

Bosaso Central Prison, Puntland

not reportedattackers killed
not reportedguards / security killed
not reportedcivilians killed
not reportedinmates killed
0escaped
not reportedinjured

An attempt to free Al-Shabaab members from the prison was thwarted. Details of casualties were not reported in the sources OPR has found.

At a glance

DateFacilityAttackers killedGuards / securityCiviliansInmatesEscaped
2025-10-04Godka Jilacow (NISA)70 (government) / at least 3 (Al Jazeera) / 42 (Al-Shabaab claim)0 (government)not reportednone (government) / 10–20, most recaptured (Somali media) / 'dozens' (Long War Journal)
2024-07-12Mogadishu Central Prison5 (inmates)at least 3 guards05 (the attackers)0
2021-03-05Bosaso Central Prisonnot confirmed1 (official) / 7 (guard's account)not reportednot reportedmore than 400 (Al-Shabaab claim; not independently confirmed)
2020-08-10Mogadishu Central Prison15 (inmates)4–5 soldiers and guards1 (a tuk-tuk driver, reported)151 (Mubarak Ibrahim Idle, reported; government denied)
2017-03Mogadishu Central Prison1 (bomber)1 soldiernot reportednot reported0 confirmed
2014-08-21Godka Jilacow (NISA)73100
2013Bosaso Central Prisonnot reportednot reportednot reportednot reported0

What the pattern shows

Three of the seven attacks came from inside — convicts with weapons that should not have been in the prison. Two came through checkpoints in vehicles and uniforms that should have been stopped; in 2025 the attackers passed seven checkpoints and the presidential palace gates. In every case the official death toll was disputed or revised, and in no case has an inquiry's findings been published. The 2020 committee, the 2024 mutiny, the 2025 checkpoint failures all ended the same way: without a public account.

Open questions

Tell OPR

If you were inside any of these prisons during an attack — as a prisoner, a guard, or a relative waiting outside — or if you know what an inquiry found: give a testimony, pitch a piece, or WhatsApp OPR at +252 61 977 5580.